The Purge, Take It Or Leave It

Image from The Purge

Photo by sfcrowsnest.org.uk

Alright, alright. So I started hearing about this movie, “The Purge” a few months ago. Saw some previews and stuff for it and people were freaking out about it. Some wanting to see it, some thinking it was just downright creepy and being a little freaked out about the whole thing.Purge Movie Poster

It was released on June 7, 2013, which was just the other day but I guess it depends on when you see this. Maybe it was like fifty years ago. Who knows. Anyways, it was directed by James DeMonaco, who is known for stuff like “The Negotiator” (1998) and “Assault on Precinct 13” (2005).

Feeling kind of bored, I went and watched it earlier, by myself. I’m not like a loser or something, but I was, as I said, really bored, not just kind of. And not having a lot of friends right now means getting kind of creative sometimes. Or just going to movies and stuff by yourself. Whatever.

The Purge movie

Photo by collider.com

So the movie takes place in like ten or so years in the future where one night a year, well for 12 hours, nothing is illegal and people can do whatever they want. So people go out and murder people and crazy stuff like that and it’s perfectly legal. And of course there are no emergency services available. But the point is this family gets help hostage in their own home for taking in a man who was running away from people who wanted to kill him.

The movie was okay, it’s classified as a horror/sci-fi/thriller. I get the thriller and sci-fi parts of that label, it’s just the horror part that I felt was lacking.

The stars of this film were Ethan Hawke, Lena Headey, and Max Burkholder. Although I’m not sure they were really stars. The acting wasn’t awful but it also wasn’t all that great. Although the villain was kind of hot, not going to lie. Even though he was technically doing something legal according to the laws of  The Purge so maybe he wasn’t really a villain at all. That’s probably kind of debatable.

If you have nothing else to do, you can go see it if you want. I watched it on my own and I was perfectly fine. Maybe it’s just the zombie thing but I didn’t find myself jumping or anything. For me, it was kind of a take it or leave it sort of film. It was kind of thought provoking, the whole idea of a purge once a year is interesting for sure. Not that I would really want to see it in action. Although it would be kind of like letting zombies rule for 12 hours.

That’s my take on “The Purge” so see it if you want. If not, probably not a great loss either. Until next time diary, don’t get bit.

Z

 

Leave a Reply

